On Rush Limbaugh

I won’t spend too much time and energy on Rush Limbaugh because I am pretty sure he doesn’t deserve my time or energy. If you don’t live under a huge rock, you will have heard about Rush Limbaugh calling a woman a slut for making the case for health insurance to cover contraceptives for women (I’m not linking to anything because I’m too lazy to find the link… just Google it, I’m sure it shouldn’t be too hard to find). What I find interesting is how much trouble this is attracting in Rush’s direction. The man has always been a closed-minded, backwards-thinking misogynist so I’m a little perplexed by the outrage. This is right up his alley. Why are people surprised he would say something like this? Why are they outraged? Is this really any worse than some of the insulting things he’s said in the past? I claim ignorance on this subject since I don’t listen to Rush Limbaugh and the only time I’m exposed to something he says is when Jon Stewart or Rachel Maddow bring it up on their shows. But from the limited exposure I’ve had to the things he says, this hardly seems like it’s out of character for him. So why is this instance the one that’s getting him into trouble? I’m actually really curious about this. Is this just the drop that’s made the glass overflow? Is it because the insult was directed at a private citizen as opposed to a politician or other public figure? Is it because Obama got involved by calling the student in question and that’s what made this somehow more media-worthy?

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s great he’s getting in shit for saying what he did. It was a terrible thing to say and from what I understand, he’s not really apologizing and still throwing insults. I’m all for him losing his advertisers and if it costs him his job, I won’t be sad. I’m just wondering what it is about this particular instance that made it the one that brought on such backlash. All hypotheses are welcome.

One thought on “On Rush Limbaugh

  1. hm.. i did not agree with some things, however i did liked the article overall… the article was actually proposed to me by a good friend at facebook and she ended up being right. really good read! Take care! 😉

Leave a Reply

